Kerala State has been divided into 14 Districts for effective management. They are classified into Zone Basis viz. North Kerala, Central Kerala & South Kerala.

Kannur: Kannur shares its boundaries with the Kasargod  District of Kerala on the North and the Kozhikode District Of Kerala in The South. To the east is the Statre of Karnataka and to the West is the Arabian Sea. The district derives its name from the city of Kannur, which is its headquarters. Kannur is famous for its extraordinary natural beauty, its dainty beaches, ancient temples and the associated festival rituals like the Theyam.  
Kasargod: Kasargod is the north most  district of Kerala. It is bound in the north and east by the state of Karnataka, in the West by the Arabian Sea and in the South by the Kannur. Its headquarters is the port town of Kasargod. The district of Kasargod is of extreme historic importance and boasts of historical architectures which are its tourist attractions. 
Kozhikode: Bound by Kannur, Wayanad and Mallapuram in the North, East and West respectively, Kozhikode or former Calicut has been the seat of dramatic history, political conspiracy and flourishing trade. The headquarters of the district is the town of Kozhikode which is a major tourist attraction and an active port.

Mallapuram: Mallapuram is the Southernmost of the northern Districts. It shares boundaries with Kozhikode and Wayanad in the north and Tamil Nadu in the East. Palakkad forms most of its East and South boundary while the district also shares a short boundary with Thrissur. Lush green forests, the dreamy Nilgiris, a scenic landscape and fertile riverbeds are part of the attraction of this quaint region. . 
Wayanad: The district headquarters of Wayanad are at Kalpetta. The district is known as Green Paradise due to the presence of dense forests and foliage. The district has a rich harvest of condiments and spices. Pepper, cardamom, coffee and tea are the major crops of this land. Kannur, Karnataka and Mallapuram are its neighbors in the North, East and South.

Eranakulam: With Thrissur to the North and the Arabian Ocean to the West; Iddukki to the East and Alappuzha and Kottayam to the South; the district of Eranakulam has the port of Eranakulam as its district headquarters. This district boasts of a number of islands. Kochi a magnificent natural harbor stands on one such island. 
Idukki: The district headquarters of Idukki district lies in the town of Pinavu. Idukki is a central district of Kerala. It shares boundaries with Tamil Nadu in the East, Thrissur in the Noth, Eranakulam and Kottayam in the West and Pathanamthitta in the South. It is a very beautiful region and its main attractions are the wildlife sanctuaries and hill stations. 
Palakkad: The Palakkad district with its headquarters at Palakkadu town is the seat of cultural growth and activities in Kerala. Bound by Tamil Nadu, Mallapuram and Thrissur, the district is very influenced by the Tamil language and culture. The district is rich in Carnatic music exponents and conducts various cultural exchanges with the rest of the country. 
Thrissur: Eranakulam and Idukki to the South, Palakkad to its East and Mallapuram to its North, the district of Thrissur has Thrissur city as its headquarters. To the West is the Arabian Ocean and the district is known for its rich culture and traditions. The famous Pooram festival is celebrated in this city. 

Alappuzha: Alappuzha was known as Allepey to the British. It is a low lying district of Kerala and the smallest in terms of area. It has the town of Alappuzha as its headquarters and is famed for its beautiful and calm backwaters. It has an excellent network of canals crisscrossing the region. Bound on the East by Pathanamthitta and South by Kollam, the district has the Arabian Sea on the remaining sides. 
Kollam: The Kollam town (Formerly Quilon) is the headquarters of the Kollam district. It is an old sea port and the districts highlight is its commercial trade with China and other countries since historical times. The district is bound by Alappuzha and Pathanamthitta on the North and Thiruvananthapuram on the South. Palaruvi Waterfalls, Eco-Tourism, Shasta Temple , Thenmala Dam all are the main attractions of Kollam.
Kottayam: Kottayam is a district bound by Eranakulam, Idukki, Pathanamthitta and Alappuzha. The district headquarters are at Kottayam town. It is the first district in India to achieve 100% literacy. Kottayam is a historic region and its tourist attractions include the many lakes and forts. 

Pathanamthitta: The district of Pathanamthitta was formed in 1982 and the town of Pathanamthitta was named its headquarters. It is surrounded by the districts of Kottayam, Idukki, Kollam and Alappuzha on all directions. It is an inland district. It is predominantly an agricultural district growing rubber and tea the most. Sabarimala is the main pilgrimage center in Pathanamthitta. 
Thiruvananthapuram: Thiruvananthapuram city, the headquarters of the Thiruananthapuram district is also the state capital. Thiruvananthapuram is also known as Trivandrum.It is the southern-most district of Kerala and the seat of administration, tourism and trade. Its many beaches, historic monuments and temples are the major tourist attractions. The district is also a great center for commercial trade.